GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

Η

HOUSE RESOLUTION DRHR10034-LG-22* (01/24)

	Sponsors: Representative Wray.
	Referred to:
-	
1	A HOUSE RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF THE TOWN OF CONWAY.
2	Whereas, the Town of Conway in eastern Northampton County was settled around
3	1835; and
4	Whereas, the area was first known as Martin Crossroads and then as Kirby; and
5	Whereas, in 1888, a small depot was built in the area and named Conway in honor
6	of the wife of an officer of the railroad; and
7	Whereas, in the late 1880s the residents of Conway petitioned the government to
8	establish a post office in the area; and
9	Whereas, the Town of Conway was incorporated by an act of the General Assembly
10	in 1913; and
11	Whereas, the Town's first officers included Mayor J.E. Taylor, Constable J.P.
12	Garriss, and Commissioners Abner Lassiter, W.T. Bridges, R.T. White, J.O. Flythe, and D.C.
13	Bridges; and
14	Whereas, Conway has always been primarily an agricultural community, producing
15	such crops as peanuts, cotton, corn, and soybeans; and
16	Whereas, Conway's citizens are very proud of their heritage and small town friendly
17	atmosphere; and
18	Whereas, Conway has continued to prosper through the continued dedication,
19	insight, and planning of the Town's leaders and citizens; and
20	Whereas, 2013 marks the 100th anniversary of the Town of Conway, an occasion
21	worthy of celebration by all North Carolinians; Now, therefore,
22	Be it resolved by the House of Representatives:
23	SECTION 1. The House of Representatives honors the founders of the Town of
24	Conway and joins the Town's citizens in recognizing the Town's 100th anniversary.
25	SECTION 2. The Principal Clerk shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution
26	to the Mayor of the Town of Conway.
27	SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon adoption.

