GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2015

Н

HOUSE BILL 122 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE H122-PCS20296-SH-4

Short Title: Add Counties/Towns/Cities-State Health Plan.

(Public)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

March 3, 2015

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO AUTHORIZE VARIOUS COUNTIES, TOWNS, AND CITIES TO ENROLL
3	THEIR EMPLOYEES AND DEPENDENTS IN THE STATE HEALTH PLAN FOR
4	TEACHERS AND STATE EMPLOYEES.
5	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
6	SECTION 1. G.S. 135-48.47(a) reads as rewritten:
7	"(a) Eligibility. – The employees and dependents of employees of the following local
8	government units are eligible to participate in the State Health Plan:
9	(1) Montgomery County.Caldwell, Haywood, Madison, Montgomery, and
10	<u>Yancey Counties.</u>
11	(2) Towns of Elizabethtown and Matthews. Burnsville, Canton, Clyde,
12	Elizabethtown, Granite Falls, Hudson, Maggie Valley, Matthews,
13	Rutherfordton, Sawmills, Spindale, Valdese, and Waynesville.
14	(3) <u>Cities of Lowell and Morganton.</u>
15	Employees and dependents participating under this section are not guaranteed participation
16	in the Plan, and participation is contingent on their respective local government units
17	complying with the provisions of this section and this Article, as well as any policies adopted
18	by the Plan."
19	SECTION 2. This act becomes effective July 1, 2015.

