

## NORTH CAROLINA GENERAL ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT House Bill 528

AMENDMENT NO. A8

(to be filled in by
Principal Clerk)

H528-AMS-50 [v.15]

Page 1 of 3

### Senator Bishop

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16

17 18

19

20

21

moves to amend the bill on page 10, lines 48 and 49, by inserting the following between those lines:

"**SECTION 5.5.** Section 18B.9.(d) of S.L. 2017-57 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 18B.9.(d) In order to implement the changes in subsection (c) of this section, the following shall apply:

- (1) The district court judgeshipsjudgeship with a term expiring December 31, 2020 currently serving District 9A shall be allocated to Judicial Districts District 9 and the judgeship with a term expiring December 31, 2018 currently serving District 9A shall be allocated to Judicial District 17A of the General Court of Justice effective January 1, 2019.
- (2) Any A vacancy occurring in athe district court judgeship with a term expiring December 31, 2018 currently serving District 9A before January 1, 2019, shall be filled by appointment for a term to end December 31, 2018. A vacancy occurring in the district court judgeship with a term expiring December 31, 2020 currently serving District 9A before January 1, 2019 shall be filled by appointment for a term to end December 31, 2020."

**SECTION 5.6.(a)** G.S. 7A-60(a1), as amended by Section 18B.9(e) of S.L. 2017-57, reads as rewritten:

"(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the following table:

22			No. of Full-Time
23	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
24	District	Counties	Attorneys
25	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	11
26		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
27		Perquimans	
28	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	8
29		Tyrrell, Washington	
30	3	Pitt	12
31	4	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	13
32	5	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	19



### NORTH CAROLINA GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## **AMENDMENT House Bill 528**

# **ADOPTED**

AMENDMENT NO. A8

(to be filled in by
Principal Clerk)

H528-AMS-50 [v.15]

		•	Page 2 of 3
1		Sampson	
2	6	New Hanover, Pender	19
3	7	Bertie, Halifax, Hertford,	11
4		Northampton	
5	8	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	19
6	9	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	14
7	10	Franklin, Granville, Person	<del>10</del> 13
8		Vance, Warren	<del></del>
9	<del>9A</del>	Person, Caswell	6
10	11	Wake	42
11	12	Harnett, Lee	11
12	13	Johnston	10
13	14	Cumberland	25
14	15	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	14
15	16	Durham	18
16	17	Alamance	12
17	18	Orange, Chatham	10
18	19	Scotland, Hoke	7
19	20	Robeson	12
20	21	Anson, Richmond	6
21	22	Caswell, Rockingham	<del>7</del> <u>10</u>
22	23	Stokes, Surry	8
23	24	Guilford	34
24	25	Cabarrus	9
25	26	Montgomery, Randolph	10
26	27	Rowan	9
27	28	Moore	5
28	29	Stanly	5
29	30	Union	11
30	31	Forsyth	27
31	32	Alexander, Iredell	12
32	33	Davidson, Davie	12
33	34	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	9
34	-	Yadkin	
35	35	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	8
36		Watauga, Yancey	
37	36	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	19
38	37	Mecklenburg	58
39	38	Gaston	15
40	39	Cleveland, Lincoln	12
41	40	Buncombe	14
42	41	McDowell, Rutherford	8
43	42	Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	9
1.5	1 4	richacioni, i oin, riano y i vania	,

#### NORTH CAROLINA GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## AMENDMENT House Bill 528

**ADOPTED** 

AMENDMENT NO. \_
(to be filled in by
Principal Clerk)

Page 3 of 3

H528-AMS-50 [v.15] Principal

1	43	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	12					
2		Haywood, Jackson, Macon,						
3		Swain."						
4	SECT	<b>FION 5.6.(b)</b> The office and term of the distri	ct attorney for Prosecutorial					
5	District 9A form	nerly consisting of Person and Caswell Coun	ties is terminated upon the					
6	expiration of the	current term, December 31, 2018. Effective Jar	nuary 1, 2019, District 9A is					
7	eliminated. All open investigations and pending cases for Prosecutorial District 9A formerly							
8	consisting of Person and Caswell Counties shall be transferred to either District 10 or District							
9	22. Person County is added to District 10 and the number of ADAs in that district is increased							
10	by three. Caswell County is added to District 22 and the number of ADAs in that district is							
11	increased by three.							
12	<b>SECTION 5.6.(c)</b> Section 18B.9(h) of S.L. 2017-57 is repealed.							
13	SECTION 5.6.(d) This section is effective January 1, 2019, and elections							
14	conducted in 2018 shall be conducted in accordance with the districts as modified by this							
15	section.".							
16								
17								
18								
19								
20								
	SIGNED Amendment Sponsor							
	SIGNED		<u> </u>					
	Cor	mmittee Chair if Senate Committee Amendment						
	ADOPTED	FAILED	TABLED					
	ADOLIED	PAILED	1 ADLED					

The official copy of this document, with signatures and vote information, is available in the Senate Principal Clerk's Office