GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

H DUISE BILL 25

HOUSE BILL 35 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE H35-PCS30059-TVa-1

Short Title:	Add'l Superior and District Court Judges.	(Public)
Sponsors:		
Referred to:		

February 7, 2019

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO INCREASE THE NUMBER OF SUPERIOR COURT AND DISTRICT COURT JUDGES IN ONSLOW, JONES, DUPLIN, AND SAMPSON COUNTIES, TO INCREASE THE NUMBER OF DISTRICT COURT JUDGES IN BURKE, CALDWELL, AND CATAWBA COUNTIES, AND TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS.

Whereas, the most recent available data of the judicial branch workload formula developed by the Administrative Office of the Courts indicates that the superior court district containing Onslow, Jones, Duplin, and Sampson counties needs one additional superior court judgeship; and

Whereas, the same data indicates that the district court district containing the same counties needs two additional district court judgeships; Now, therefore,

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

1

2 3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16 17

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-41(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) The counties of the State are organized into judicial divisions and superior court districts, and each superior court district has the counties, and the number of regular resident superior court judges set forth in the following table, and for districts of less than a whole county, as set out in subsection (b) of this section:

	Superior		
Judicial	Court	1	No. of Resident
Division	District	Counties	Judges
First	1	Camden, Chowan,	2
		Currituck,	
		Dare, Gates,	
		Pasquotank,	
		Perquimans	
First	2	Beaufort, Hyde,	1
		Martin,	
		Tyrrell, Washington	
First	3A	Pitt	2
Second	3B	Carteret, Craven,	3
		Pamlico	
Second	4	Duplin, Jones,	2 3
		Onslow, Sampson	
Second	5A	(part of New Hanover,	1
		Pender	



	General Ass	embly Of North Carolina			Session 2019
			see subsection (b))	5	
2		5B	(part of New Hanover,	1	
3			see subsection (b))		
		5C	(part of New Hanover,	1	
			see subsection (b))		
	First	6A	Halifax	1	
	First	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	1	
	5 7	7.	Northampton		
	First	7A	Nash	1	
	First	7B	(part of Wilson,	1	
			part of Edgecombe,		
	First	7C	see subsection (b))	1	
	гизі	/C	(part of Wilson, part of Edgecombe,	1	
			see subsection (b))		
	Second	8A	Lenoir and Greene	1	
	Second	8B	Wayne	1	
	First	ов 9	Franklin, Granville,	2	
	1 1150	,	Person, Vance, Warren	_	
	Third	10A	(part of Wake,	1	
	111114	1011	see subsection (b))	•	
	Third	10B	(part of Wake,	1	
			see subsection (b))		
	Third	10C	(part of Wake,	1	
			see subsection (b))		
	Third	10D	(part of Wake,	1	
			see subsection (b))		
	Third	10E	(part of Wake,	1	
			see subsection (b))		
	Third	10F	(part of Wake,	1	
			see subsection (b))		
	Third	11A	Harnett,	1	
	771 ° 1	110	Lee	4	
	Third	11B	Johnston	1	
	Third	12A	(part of Cumberland,	1	
	Third	1 2 D	see subsection (b))	1	
	Third	12B	(part of Cumberland, see subsection (b))	1	
	Third	12C	(part of Cumberland,	2	
	Tilliu	12C	see subsection (b))	2	
	Second	13A	Bladen, Columbus	1	
	Second	13A 13B	Brunswick	1	
	First	14A	(part of Durham,	1	
	1 1100		see subsection (b))	-	
	First	14B	(part of Durham,	3	
	-		see subsection (b))	-	
	Third	15A	Alamance	2	
	Fourth	15B	Orange, Chatham	2	
	Third	16A	Anson, Richmond,	2	
			Scotland		
	Second	16B	Robeson	2	
	Dogg 2	-	Hansa D:11 25	1125 D	$CC20050 \text{ TM}_{\odot} 1$

Page 2 House Bill 35 H35-PCS30059-TVa-1

General .	Assembly Of North Carolina			Session 2019
Fourth	17A	Caswell, Rockingham	2	
Fourth	17B	Stokes, Surry	1	
Fourth	18A	(part of Guilford,	1	
		see subsection (b))		
Fourth	18B	(part of Guilford,	1	
		see subsection (b))		
Fourth	18C	(part of Guilford,	1	
		see subsection (b))		
Fourth	18D	(part of Guilford,	1	
		see subsection (b))		
Fourth	18E	(part of Guilford,	1	
		see subsection (b))		
Fourth	19A	Cabarrus	1	
Third	19B	Randolph	2	
Fourth	19C	Rowan	1	
Third	19D	Hoke, Moore	2	
Third	20A	Montgomery, Stanly	2	
Third	20B	Union	2	
Fourth	20B 21A	(part of Forsyth,	1	
1 Ourth	2111	see subsection (b))	1	
Fourth	21B	(part of Forsyth,	1	
1 Ourtii	216	see subsection (b))	1	
Fourth	21C	(part of Forsyth,	1	
Tourui	210	see subsection (b))	1	
Fourth	21D	(part of Forsyth,	1	
1 Ourui	21D	see subsection (b))	1	
Fourth	22A	Alexander, Iredell	2	
Fourth	22B	Davidson, Davie	$\frac{2}{2}$	
Fourth	23		1	
roului	23	Alleghany, Ashe,	1	
T::641.	24	Wilkes, Yadkin	2	
Fifth	24	Avery, Madison,	2	
		Mitchell,		
T: 641	25 1	Watauga, Yancey	2	
Fifth	25A	Burke, Caldwell	2	
Fifth	25B	Catawba	2	
Fifth	26A	(part of Mecklenburg, see subsection (b))	1	
Fifth	26B	(part of Mecklenburg, see subsection (b))	1	
Fifth	26C	(part of Mecklenburg,	1	
		see subsection (b))		
	26D	(part of Mecklenburg,	1	
		see subsection (b))		
	26E	(part of Mecklenburg,	1	
		see subsection (b))		
	26F	(part of Mecklenburg,	1	
	-	see subsection (b))		
	26G	(part of Mecklenburg,	1	
		see subsection (b))		
	26H	(part of Mecklenburg,	1	
	-	see subsection (b))	_	
		500 500 500 (6))		

H35-PCS30059-TVa-1 House Bill 35 Page 3

General A	Assembly Of North Card	olina	Session 2019
Fifth	27A	Gaston	2
Fifth	27B	Cleveland, Lincoln	2 2
Fifth	28	Buncombe	2
Fifth	29A	McDowell,	1
		Rutherford	
Fifth	29B	Henderson, Polk,	1
		Transylvania	
Fifth	30A	Cherokee, Clay,	1
		Graham, Macon,	
		Swain	
Fifth	30B	Haywood, Jackson	1."
		133(a) reads as rewritten:	
"(a) following		rict shall have the numbers of	judges as set forth in the
<u>District</u>		<u>Judges</u>	<u>County</u>
1		5	Camden
			Chowan
			Currituck
			Dare
			Gates
			Pasquotank
			Perquimans
2		4	Martin
			Beaufort
			Tyrrell
			Hyde
			Washington
3A		5	Pitt
3B		6	Craven
			Pamlico
			Carteret
4		<u>810</u>	Sampson
			Duplin
			Jones
			Onslow
5		9	New Hanover
			Pender
6		4	Northampton
			Bertie
			Hertford
			Halifax
7		7	Nash
			Edgecombe
			Wilson
8		6	Wayne
			Greene
			Lenoir
9		5	Granville
			(part of Vance
			see subsection
			(b))

Page 4 House Bill 35 H35-PCS30059-TVa-1

General Assembly O	f North Carolina	Session 2019	
		Franklin	
		Person	
9B	2	Warren	
,2	-	(part of Vance	
		see subsection (b))	
10A	3	(part of Wake	
1011	3	see subsection (b))	
10B	3	(part of Wake	
100	3	see subsection (b))	
10C	3	(part of Wake	
100	3	see subsection (b))	
10D	6	(part of Wake	
10D	O	see subsection (b))	
10E	3		
IUE	3	(part of Wake	
10E	3	see subsection (b))	
10F	3	(part of Wake	
11	1.1	see subsection (b))	
11	11	Harnett	
		Johnston	
10	10	Lee	
12	10	Cumberland	
13	6	Bladen	
		Brunswick	
		Columbus	
14	7	Durham	
15A	4	Alamance	
15B	5	Orange	
		Chatham	
16A	4	Scotland	
		Anson	
		Richmond	
16B	5	Robeson	
17A	4	Caswell	
		Rockingham	
17B	4	Stokes	
		Surry	
18	14	Guilford	
19A	5	Cabarrus	
19B	5	Randolph	
19C	5	Rowan	
19D	4	Hoke, Moore	
20A	3	Montgomery, Stanly	
20B	1	(part of Union	
202	-	see subsection	
		(b))	
20C	2	(part of Union	
200	_	see subsection	
		(b))	
20D	1	Union	
20D 21	11	Forsyth	
∠1	11	roisym	
22A	5	Alexander	

	General Assembly (Of North Carolina	Session 2019
1			Iredell
2	22B	6	Davidson
3			Davie
4	23	4	Alleghany
5		·	Ashe
6			Wilkes
7			Yadkin
8	24	4	Avery
9	24	7	Madison
10			Mitchell
11			
			Watauga
12	25	010	Yancey
13	25	9 <u>10</u>	Burke
14			Caldwell
15		_	Catawba
16	26A	3	(part of
17			Mecklenburg
18			see subsection (b))
19	26B	3	(part of
20			Mecklenburg
21			see subsection (b))
22	26C	2	(part of
23			Mecklenburg
24			see subsection (b))
25	26D	2	(part of
26			Mecklenburg
27			see subsection (b))
28	26E	3	(part of
29	-02	Č	Mecklenburg
30			see subsection (b))
31	26F	3	(part of
32	201	3	Mecklenburg
33			see subsection (b))
33 34	260	2	
	26G	Z	(part of
35			Mecklenburg
36	0.611	2	see subsection (b))
37	26H	3	(part of
38			Mecklenburg
39			see subsection (b))
40	27A	7	Gaston
41	27B	6	Cleveland
42			Lincoln
43	28	7	Buncombe
44	29A	3	McDowell
45			Rutherford
46	29B	4	Henderson
47			Polk
48			Transylvania
49	30	6	Cherokee
50		Ŭ	Clay
51			Graham
<i>J</i> 1			Oranam
	_		****

Page 6 House Bill 35 H35-PCS30059-TVa-1

Session 2019

General Assembly Of North Carolina