GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

S D

SENATE BILL 194 PROPOSED HOUSE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE S194-PCS15368-TMxfr-20

1

2

3

4

5

6

7 8

9

10 11

12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19

20

21

2223

2425

26

27

28

29

30

31 32

33

Short Title: West Jefferson/Saluda Satellite Annexations. (Local) Sponsors: Referred to: March 7, 2019 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF WEST JEFFERSON AND THE CITY OF SALUDA. The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: **SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten: "§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards. (b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards: (5)The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor,

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

Yadkinville, and Zebulon.

